Mixing Trends: Nautical + Color Blocking

via HGTV

While I was writing yesterday’s post on color blocking, I couldn’t help thinking about an outfit I saw on Design Star on HGTV the other night (in case you’re not aware, I’m a huge HGTV nerd).

The show’s host, Tanika Ray (at left), was wearing a super cute navy and white striped t-shirt dress that she accessorized with a bold, chunky orange necklace. She was was also wearing a fab pair of tan and orange wedges (which I couldn’t find a good photo of).

What an awesomely simple way to combine trends! You know I love my stripes and the addition of brightly colored accessories is the perfect way to give this trend an ultra-modern kick–and send it forcefully into color blocking territory.

There are so many fun ways to play with this, but for now I’ll show you how you can create something similar to Tanika’s fresh look:

J. Crew dress :: Kathy’s Jewelry and More jewelry :: Eric Michael espadrille

Stripes are a no brainer to color block with since you’re already working with contrast. The additional pop of a bright, vibrant color makes the look so fun!

What do you think? How do you plan on color blocking your stripes?

2 Comments

Filed under Accessories, Fashion, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mixing Trends: Nautical + Color Blocking

  1. EarlyGirl

    I was obsessed with this look, and determined to find something similar. Well, I not only did that, but I found her EXACT dress yesterday (August 15, 2011) at H&M. It was on the sale rack for $15!!! Not kidding. And the kicker – it has an adorable exposed zipper on the back. The necklace was found on eBay for $34 – might be a tad darker, but it’s the same thing (eBay item #220824222934). As for the shoes, I didn’t really see them, but I have a great pair of neutral wedges that I’m going to wear. Thank you HGTV!

Leave a Reply

