Recap: Project Runway S9, E4

**SPOILER ALERT: don’t read further if you’re not caught up**

This week the designers had the near-impossible task of making an outfit for Nina Garcia that she could wear both to work in the Marie Claire offices and to industry events at night.

Before the designers sketched anything, Nina gave them a long list of things she does not like, prompting Heidi to quip “What’s left?!” You have to love a woman who know what she likes, don’t you?

Most of Nina’s sound bites for the night included the words no, sad, or a combination of both. Some of the designers took what she said and made it work (I’m looking at you, Anya) and others… not so much.

So let’s get to it…

Best

via myLifetime.com

This may come as a surprise to anyone who knows me, but I want Kimberly’s design in my closet. That top is amazing! From the cut and the clean lines to the choice of fabric and color, I’m in love. And it looks so well made! Plus, it’s great for print ads.

I also liked Viktor’s look with the crazy architectural cap sleeves. I don’t think that one translates to TV/print very well though. And surprisingly enough, I liked Josh’s little color blocked dress. It goes to show you that a little editing can go a long way.

Worst

via myLifetime.com

Like most of what we saw from Julie, this dress was a disaster. I respect the fact that she always holds on to her signature athletic-inspired style, but execution seems to be the biggest problem for Julie.

There’s not much about this look that falls into a positive category. I like the color blocking but I’m not exactly feeling the greige color. The neckline is terrible.

I also agreed with the judges when they said they didn’t know what to think of it. Is it a dress? A coat? A droat, as Joanna Coles put it (what did you think of her, by the way? She was on fire!)? Michael Kors said it looked like a housecoat that you could stuff tissues into as you dusted the furniture. While I didn’t agree with all of the comments, I agreed with the general assessment: this look sucked!

What did you guys think? Was there anyone in the middle that you think deserved to be in the top or bottom?

4 Comments

Filed under Fashion, TV, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Recap: Project Runway S9, E4

  1. I must be crazy bc I didn’t think the coat dress was that bad!

    Viktor’s is a copy of Tom Ford so I’m happy she chose the gold.

    • Jen

      Oh man. I hated that coat dress. The neck and hemlines were the parts I couldn’t bear. I did like the pops of orange. Also, I can’t imagine seeing Nina Garcia in it and that was what Julie should’ve been going for.

  2. too funny. I want Kimberly’s top too. Too bad it’s not available right? I knew as soon as that model walked the runway that this piece would win and would be perfect for Nina Garcia! Gorgeous

Leave a Reply

