Houseboat Inspired Fashion

When I was younger, I used to love watching Houseboat with my mom. It was one of those movies that we watched so many times I had the whole thing memorized.

I adored Sophia Loren as Cinzia, an Italian socialite who longs for freedom from her overbearing father and ends up running off to be the maid for a lawyer and his three children.

Whether painting the houseboat with the kids or walking into a fancy party in a curve-hugging gold dress, Sophia Loren never looks anything less than stunning in this movie.

I really think that my obsession with Houseboat did a lot to shape the styles that I’m drawn to as an adult. I love classic shapes and clean lines like Sophia Loren wears throughout the movie.

These photos aren’t the best examples of what I mean, but you get the picture. The woman knows how to dress her body! I’m crazy about the classic silhouettes and the simple designs. You really can’t go wrong with them.

I found a few modern pieces that fit so well into this classic mold:

Shabby Apple

J. Crew

Tadashi Shoji

AGB

I just think classic silhouettes like a-line skirts and curve-hugging wiggle dresses are the perfect go-to looks when you want to feel extra fabulous. The simplicity of these dresses only seems to add to their charm. Love them and love Sophia!

9 Comments

Filed under Fashion

9 responses to “Houseboat Inspired Fashion

  1. GASP! I haven’t seen this movie! But I will.

    These looks are all so lovely. Can’t go wrong with classic silhouettes.

  2. Gosh, I’ve never seen this movie, but I so want to now! What great clothes they had back then. Have you seen the Mad Men collection at Banana Republic? Very classic and form fitting. Thanks for visisting Fashionhogger!

  3. I haven’t seen this movie EITHER…where have I been?
    LOVE that Tadashi dress..I work w a bunch of boutiques that sell cocktail dresses and I have actually seen and touched it…amazing dress…it also comes in NAVY and is a total showstopper…in either color!
    Great choices!
    Thanks for stopping by.
    C

  4. I’ve never seen this movie – it looks so fun! Love Ms. Loren. Gotta check it out 🙂

  5. Jen

    Ooooh, ladies! You have to check it out! Sophia Loren and Cary Grant– you can’t go wrong!

    I haven’t seen in years, I’m gonna have to check Netflix!

    Thank for dropping by 🙂

  6. I looooooove that movie!! And that Shabby Apple frock is too cute!

Leave a Reply

