Style Inspiration: The Notebook

So yesterday I read a hilarious post about the oh-so delectable Ryan Gosling over on Hello Giggles (have you checked that site out yet? It’s pretty funny stuff–and my girl crush, Zooey Deschanel, is one of the co-founders).

The post immediately made me think about The Notebook (swoon), which made me think about Rachel McAdams (also girl crush worthy) and her awesome style in the movie.

In case you haven’t seen it (you so should), it’s a tear-jerking love story that mostly takes place in the ’40s.

had to work a photo of Ryan in... sorry about the clothes!

If you know me, enough said. I love 40s fashion! Love, love, love! You can’t go wrong with the clean, simple lines and a touch of glamour.

S0 of course, I had to go on a little search for Rachel McAdams’ outfits in the movie.

sources (clockwise from top left): with gloves, in boat, dip, bathing suit

Once I had it on the brain, I had to find some super cute modern takes on ’40s style. And of course, I have to share it with you…

Shabby Apple

ALDO

Poppycock Vintage

ModCloth

Shabby Apple

Miz Mooz

I could go on forever! Do you like ’40s inspired fashion as much as I do?

I’m linking up with some fabulous ladies today. “Monday Mingle” is a weekly fashion/style link-up rotated between Momtrends, BonBon Rose Girls, and Glamamom. Check them out!

29 Comments

Filed under Accessories, Fashion, Shoes

29 responses to “Style Inspiration: The Notebook

  1. Yes, I absolutely do! The Notebook is one of my fave movies and I where I first fell in love with Rachel (which is hard to do with Ryan in the picture!)

    For me, I love a piece of vintage but not head to toe. ModCloth is amazing for that kind of stuff but I always mix it with more modern pieces. Otherwise, I feel like I’m wearing a costume.

  2. That emerald shabby apple dress is just gorgeous! And I LOVE the costuming in that flick…and Mr. Gosling too for that matter!

  3. chameleonic

    i’m probably the last girl in the world to NOT have seen that movie, although I adore mr. gosling! great style post!

  4. oooo. Thanks for the inspiration. Her style in the movie is so perfect. I love the modcloth bathing suit and those t-strap heels. It is all so classy

    ❤ Rachel
    http://www.dressupsandmessups.wordpress.com

  5. Miz Mooz really has great 40s style shoes! I have a pair that I adore. What a great movie The Notebook is, and I am also a huge fan of cute (and so funny) Zoe!! How hilarious is The New Girl???

  6. I don’t have a lot of curves so the 40s weren’t for me, but I do love the rich vivid colors. Love this round-up of trends. Thanks so much for sharing on Monday Mingle over at Momtrends.

  7. She looks so great in all those clothes. I love these outfits. Reminds me of Stop Staring outfits.

  8. I love the movie and love seeing your roundup of the trends. The red is catching my attention esp that Shabby Apple dress!

  9. Mae

    Thanks for reminding me how much I love The Notebook…have to watch that again. And the pieces you picked are absolutely gorgeous! especially that emerald green dress and the red bikini!
    xx

  10. The notebook is one of my all time favorite movies! I cry every time I see it, and I’ve seen it many times! It is just a wonderful story and Rachel plays the young Alie beautifully! My favorite outfit of hers is in that red suit when she enters the office building of Lon and all you see is her in that red suit on a sea of white and black marble checked tiles. It’s gorgeous! Thank you so much for stopping by, I’ve never checked out shabby apple and will definitely do so as I love 40s fashion!

  11. love mod cloth. they have some great pieces. I really want that red dress!

  12. LOVE that movie..what a classic. And the book was even better:)

    Love 40’s look…it always looks horrible on me (too costume) I think you either have that look or you don’t….ocasionally an accessory or two will work…but usually I look silly…..BUT…. I ADORE the look on other people….
    Especially the red lips!!!! C

  13. i loved that movie…and I hate myself to be such a predictable woman sometimes!
    Sara C.

  14. Michele Frechette

    FYI a bikini in the forties was very risque. women barely even swam… makes me love the costume designer’s decision to put her in one even more.

  15. Pingback: WTF Crush: Seth Rogen | a touch of lovely

Leave a Reply

