Boardwalk Empire Inspired Fashion

sources: 1 :: 2 :: 3 :: 4 :: 5

Do you watch HBO’s Boardwalk Empire? My husband and I are kind of in love with it.

From a fashion point of view, I’m in absolute heaven. I have a huge soft spot for styles from the ’20s and ’40s (in fact, I was totally inspired by it when planning my wedding). The looks are all so glamorous and feminine and sexy without being too in your face.

Even the hair and makeup are amazing. I love the whole package!

So, of course, I had to do a little “window” shopping…

Forever21 :: 2 Forever21 :: 3 David Meister :: 4 J. Mendel :: 5 Twigs and Honey :: 6 Anthropologie :: 7 Seychelles :: 8 Gilded Elegance :: 9 Mrs. Pomeranz

I’m so in love!

But how do you incorporate ’20s-syle pieces without looking like you’re wearing a flapper costume?

The key is mixing in modern trends that ground you in the present.

Take a look:

1 ModCloth :: 2  Forever21 :: 3  Orizu :: 4 Forever21 :: 5  Seychelles :: 6 Express

I built this look around a flapper-style dress. The looseness of the top, the coverage and the pretty pleating give it a little bit of a ’20s feel. Add the cloche hat and you’re totally in flapper territory!

Too add a bit of edge and bring it into this century, I added a faux leather jacket and an arm full of sparkly bangles.

Next, I chose shoes and a necklace that straddle the line between super modern and vintage inspired to try and bring it all together.

I am so in love with this look! What do you think?

13 Comments

Filed under Accessories, Fashion, Shoes, TV

13 responses to “Boardwalk Empire Inspired Fashion

  1. chameleonic

    i LOVE that era, and this post alone has convinced me to check out the show… beautiful styling!

  2. That no. 5 headpiece would be so amazing for a wedding!

  3. I am definitely a fan of the 20s to the 40s…I love retro themed pieces! I love the earrings #1 🙂

  4. I love pieces from the 20’s and totally love it when people can wear certain pieces from that era without looking like it’s a costume. #2, 3, 5, and 6 — LOVE THEM!

  5. I heart all of the dresses. Who knew I was a fan of the 20’s and 40’s? 🙂

  6. Ooh I love these looks! Really love the outfit you put together, the leather jacket is a great pairing with that pretty dress!

  7. I’ve never heard of this show, but totally in love with the 20’s flapper look. so glamourous it hurts!

    x Minty
    http://mintyandpeaches.wordpress.com

  8. I’ve never seen the show, but I do like retro-glam. Thanks so much for sharing on Momtrends Monday Mingle.

  9. It’s hard to pull of this look without looking costume-y but you picked great pieces that can easily be incorporated.

Leave a Reply

