Movember

I’ve never been a big fan of the moustache. I don’t mind it so much in combination with other facial hair (I do enjoy a bit of scruff), but when worn alone mustaches make most men look like creepy pedophiles.

Unless you’re hanging on real hard to the eighties, they’re just not attractive. Case in point:

sources (left to right from top left): Tom SelleckCharlie Chaplin, Mario, Geraldo, Borat, Clark Gable, Hulk, Groucho Marx, Burt Reynolds

I can, however, get behind it in Movember (yeah. That’s right. Movember). Starting November 1st Mo Bros (yeah, that’s right too) begin the long, arduous task of growing a month-long mustache.

Why would anyone voluntarily grow a gross animal-looking thing above their lip? To raise both funds and awareness for prostate cancer.

It’s kind of a brilliant idea. As the website says, “Mo Bros effectively become walking, talking billboards for the 30 days of November. Through their actions and words they raise awareness by prompting private and public conversation around the often ignored issue of men’s health.”

But what if you want to support the cause but… uh… can’t grow a moustache (at least that fast)?

Luckily there are plenty of goods out there with moustaches plastered all over them:

1 Rae Gun :: 2 Paisley Magic :: 3 UrbanWalls :: 4 Aubreyplays
5 Babes to Grandmas :: 6 Buttonlandia

If your guy is growing a little ‘stache, send me a photo: jennifergarrydesigns@gmail.com and I’ll feature it here at the end of the month!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Movember

  1. Yeah, I’m not a fan of the stache either. Too seventies for my taste. My dad used to rock one for a period LOL

  2. Totally not a fan of facial hair but it’s such an awesome way to promote awareness of prostate cancer! Your writeup totally made me laugh though – I didn’t know they were called Mo Bros!

    x Minty
    http://mintyandpeaches.wordpress.com

  3. The stache above the crib is awesome.

    Am a full supporter of Movember; great cause.

  4. I have to say, the tashe can be rather sexy, if it graces the right lips 🙂

    Btw, every single item on the picture = I want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

