Healthy Start

After the calorie consuming marathon that is the holiday season, lots of ladies out there turn to healthier pastures come New Year’s Day–myself included. That’s why I was so intrigued when I came across this Green Smoothie recipe that Jessica from Monster Cakes guest blogged over at Eat Yourself Skinny:

1 banana + 1 apple + big handful of spinach + 1/2-1 full cucumber + 1/2 cup almond milk

I immediately decided I had to try it. I love smoothies. I love all of the ingredients in this recipe. Plus, I’m on the hunt for a new, healthy breakfast option.

I was a little skeptical of how all of these yummy ingredients would taste when combined and blended. Still, I’ve been wanting to try a green smoothie for awhile and I had all of the ingredients in the house so I went for it.

It was surprisingly delicious! I had to substitute chocolate almond milk because it’s all I had, which made me even more nervous and doubtful that this little experiment would end well.

But it was good! Sweet and smooth and very filling, which is just what I need in the morning.

I’m thinking I’m going to make this my new go-to breakfast. I may add a side of nuts and/or berries once in awhile, but you would be surprised at how full this little green monster will make you (which is good since, for some reason, come 10 am I start craving chocolate).

This is my first step towards healthier living. Stay tuned for the next one… which will come after I’ve eaten through all of the holiday sweets that are left in my cabinets!

Have you taken any steps to a healthier diet?

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Healthy Start

  1. i need to yet. The holidays were brutal. Glad to read this one works. I need to try it!

Leave a Reply

