Golden Globes Fashion

The best part about awards shows (especially the snooze fest that was this year’s Golden Globes) is always the fashion! Sure, sometimes an underdog’s speech will bring me to tears, but it’s the gowns that snap me to attention.

Here are my thoughts on this year’s Golden Globes fashion:

Favorite Looks

Reese Witherspoon in Zac Posen

Hot momma! I love everything about this look. The color and cut are bold and sexy but she kept her hair and makeup simple. By doing so, she avoidedlooking like she was trying too hard or looking like someone she’s not. She looks beautiful and natural and that dress fits her like a glove!

Salma Hayek in Gucci

Another hot momma! It’s no secret that I’m drawn to all things glittery, which is probably why I loved this look on Salma. The gown plays up her curves and is a little futuristic without straying from chic. Like Reese, she also kept her hair and makeup simple which allows the gown to shine in all its glory!

Kate Winslet in Jenny Packham

I love that Kate is a real girl who owns her curves. She looks flawless in this chic colorblock dress. I love the shoulders and the keyhole peekaboo. She shows a little skin but manages to keep it tasteful.

Emma Stone in Lanvin

Last but not least is the gorgeous Emma Stone. I love everything about this look. The color is fabulous and works really well with her skin tone. I love the shoulder details and the soft draping. I even think the eagle buckle is a pretty cool touch, even though I probably wouldn’t wear it myself. Combine that with her smoky eyes and we have perfection!

Least Favorite Looks

Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace

She’s gorgeous. A large portion of the dress is gorgeous. But my major problem is with the color. It completely washes her out and the red is so severe (I know that’s her thing, I just don’t think it works here). And something about the clutch, collar and lips scream bridesmaid to me. Thumbs down.

Lea Michele in Marchesa

I’m not sure what I disliked more: the ice capades dress or the terrible in-your-face posing. Sadly, I think it was the dress. I usually love Marchesa, but the metallic color, sheer bits and ornate top all seemed to fight with each other and the result wasn’t pretty.

Amanda Peet in Marc Jacobs

Marc Jacobs is another designer that I usually love, but Amanda Peet looked sloppy and a little frumpy in this gown. While I like the fabric, the dress looks like it doesn’t fit her. I think the tiers were a little bit of overkill. I’m also not feeling the shoe choice in combination with this dress!

Sarah Michelle Gellar in Monique Lhuillier

I like a little bit of print to break up a bland red carpet. But this is a disaster. Not only does it look a little too bridal, but it looks like her daughter’s blue marker exploded all over it. To make matters worse, her hair gives her a bit of  a Barbie look. All I can think of is a deranged Barbie sitting atop a wedding cake (maybe some blue icing bled into her gown?).

Favorite Accessories

Charlize Theron’s headband

I loved Charlize’s entire look. That Dior gown is amazing. Seriously stunning. But I especially loved the headband, which isn’t something you often see on the red carpet (the adorable Michelle Williams also wore one).

Julianne Moore’s Fred Leighton earrings

Gorgeous! The color of these earrings really popped. They were the first thing I noticed about her! They worked flawlessly with both her hair and skin color and made a statement without being overbearing.

Heidi Klum’s Lorraine Schwartz necklace

I always love Heidi. What I love in particular about this necklace is how unexpected it is. You rarely see turquoise on the red carpet. But this bold piece works because she paired it with a simple nude dress.

What were your favorite and least favorite looks?

3 Comments

Filed under Fashion

3 responses to “Golden Globes Fashion

  1. Joanna Lea

    I must disagree with you about Angelina’s dress. She looked as if she was a Vampiress on a sabbatical from blood drinking…but she looked GORGEOUS. The non color paired with the red and the asymmetry of the cut was nothing short of sexy and glamourous.

    I totally agree with your opinions of Marchesa, a little to much metal for me too and the total mess of paint splashing all over the 80’s homecoming dress from Monique Lhuillier…WHAT was she thinking????

    My fav’s are Heidi’s look and I think Charlize’s gown won the night! Perfect color for her, perfect cut, just perfect!!!

    Great post!!!!
    Joanna
    khamillion.com

  2. I loved Angelina in that dress. It was so severe and glamorous. She’s just the ideal movie star to me. I wouldn’t mind her like 10-15lb heavier though 😉

  3. I guess what I didn’t like about Angelina’s dress was that it’s so severe. And also that it totally washes her out. But I guess both of those things are very “Angelina.” She did look like a Vampiress and that’s what I didn’t like about it– but at least she was true to herself and her style!

Leave a Reply

