Do or Don’t: Mary Jane Boots

I was flipping through a back issue of Vogue the other day when I saw a Prada ad that totally stopped me in my tracks. What was so attention grabbing that I put down my glass of water and stared in wonder? I’m glad you asked:

Apparently I’ve been living in a hole because these Prada boots have been around for a while. So long, in fact, that they’re on sale at Saks for $560 (down from $1,400!).

I can’t for the life of me figure out the appeal, other than some sort of shock value or brand worship.

I should admit that the red and nude pair I’m showing you here is my least favorite. It’s also available in a variety of other colors (and even python print), which look like mary janes paired with a contrasting color sock.

But the question remains: why spend that kind of money on a shoe when you can create the same look much more inexpensively and with the added bonus of versatility (you can, after all, pair a regular pair of mary janes with socks, tights, or your actual leg!).

What do you think about them?

12 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Shoes

12 responses to “Do or Don’t: Mary Jane Boots

  1. Gosh, I saw these at Saks too on the clearance table and picked them up ’cause I knew they were Prada but then couldn’t decide if I liked them. Besides looking like flesh tone (and not even MY flesh tone lol!) they colour block doesn’t work for me with these colours.

  2. Michele Frechette

    they’re on sale because they’re so ugly

  3. nooooo. No No No. That’s my vote and I’m sticking to it 🙂

  4. before I read it i was like those pumps are adorable, then i realized they were boots, i’m on the fence.

  5. They are horrific. Like a design car wreck,but I always appreciate your stopping by to link up to Monday Mingle.

  6. Yikes! I don’t get the appeal, either.

  7. Eek I didn’t know the leg part was PART of the shoe. Yuckk! Definitely a no-no. Spend that money on a nice holiday with your family! xx

  8. A definite NO. But there’s probably somebody out there who could pull off this look.

Leave a Reply

